You LaCie NAS can join a Windows Workgroup or a Windows Active Directory:
Except for access rights to shares on the LaCie NAS, users and groups imported from a domain are managed by the domain's administrator. If a user's/group's account has been changed by the domain administrator within the Windows Active Directory server (e.g. password revision, deleted from the domain, etc.), you can update the account on the LaCie NAS by choosing on the button Synchronize imported users/groups.
To remove the LaCie NAS's connection to a domain:
The File sharing tab offers a list of file protocols available to the LaCie NAS. Based upon the needs of computers and workstations on the network, the administrator can choose to maintain certain services while leaving others turned off. Examples:
The iSCSI service should be used to direct iSCSI target volumes to an iSNS (Internet Storage Name Service) server on the network. Doing so will allow workstations (initiators) to discover the LaCie NAS's iSCSI volume(s) via the iSNS server rather than using a direct connection. Using an iSNS server is ideal when managing multiple iSCSI volumes (targets) and compatible workstations (initiators). To enter the iSNS server IP address:
For instructions on creating iSCSI volumes on your LaCie NAS, see iSCSI Target.
You can also limit the iSCSI service to a single LAN:
The Application services tab provides a list of services that may be used with the Dashboard or third-party programs.
Your LaCie NAS features a printer server. Follow the directions below to share a printer on the network via the LaCie NAS:
Computer(s) on your network may require specific drivers to use the printer. See the user manual for your printer for details.
There are three levels of service activation: enable/disable, global service activation, and share protocols. The File Sharing and Application Services tabs allow you to manage the settings for enable/disable and global service activation. The share protocols are managed per share on the Shares page.
In all cases, enabling/disabling a service will override global service activation and share protocols. If a service is enabled, a green light will be listed in the Status column. Not all services are enabled by default.
The global service level is, by default, set to Activated. This means that the service is ready for use by all shares as long as it is enabled. An administrator can also choose to deactivate a service at the global service activation level while enabling it. Doing so allows the administrator to limit the service to individual shares by adjusting the protocol value in Shares. For example, the administrator may wish to limit the Time Machine service to a single share that is only available to Macintosh computers on the network.
See the table below for examples of service settings:
|Enable/Disable||Global Service Value||Share Protocols||Use|
|Enable||Activated||Set to Global.||The service is ready for use.|
|Disable||Activated||Set to Global.||The service is not available.|
|Enable||Deactivated||Set to Activated.||The service is available to the specific share.|
|Enable||Activated||Set to Deactivated.||The service is not available to the specific share.|
See Shares for instructions on adjusting the settings for share protocols.