User Tools

Site Tools


Update Product Operating System

LaCie may improve your LaCie software or add new features over time. This chapter explains how to update your LaCie network storage operating system (LaCie NAS OS) via the Dashboard or using LaCie Network Assistant.

In case of difficulty with your device or as an aid for troubleshooting, please see the section on how to reset it to factory condition.

Update Using the Dashboard

  1. Launch the Dashboard as described in Administration (Dashboard) and navigate to the Support page.
  2. To set up your network storage to update automatically:
    1. Click on the configuration icon (intertwined screwdriver and wrench) next to AUTO-Update.
    2. Select a frequency and time for the network storage to check the update server.
    3. The Dashboard will prompt you if a new update is available.
  3. To check for an update manually:
    1. Click the grey, downward arrow.
    2. If a link appears, click it to begin the download.
    3. When the download completes, follow the onscreen instructions to complete the update.
  4. During an update, the device will reboot and disappear from the network temporarily. When it reappears, you can verify the new software version on the Support page.

 

Update Using LaCie Network Assistant

This update procedure will not erase your configuration or files saved to the network storage.

Important info: Before proceeding, make sure to follow the recommendations below:

  • Connect your PC or Mac to the network using an Ethernet cable (turn off all wireless connections)
  • Make sure users on your network have stopped data transfers to the network storage
  • Turn off other storage devices on the network except the one you wish to update
  • Disconnect all computers from the shares of the network storage you intend to update

  1. Make sure you are using the latest version of LaCie Network Assistant. If you download a newer version, make sure to uninstall previous versions.
  2. Download the latest software update for your product from here. Keep it in a known location on your computer as you will be prompted to browse for it in step 9.
  3. Run LaCie Network Assistant.
  4. Go to Preferences and make sure IPConf Support is deactivated. You will know it is off if the button reads Activate.

    IP Config is off


  5. Click the Configuration tab if you are running LaCie Network Assistant 1.5.1 or higher.
  6. If you have more than one LaCie network storage device on your network, select your product from the list on the left.
  7. Click on the *Update your NAS… button.

  8. Enter your administrator username and password.

  9. Browse to and load the update package (.capsule file) you downloaded from the LaCie website.
  10. Click on Continue… to begin the update. Mac users may be prompted to enter their computer's administrator username and password.
  11. Once the update is complete, verify the update in Dashboard - Support or LaCie Network Assistant:
    1. Go to LaCie Network Assistant and choose Open LaCie Network Assistant…. Older versions of LaCie Network Assistant should select Configuration Window.
    2. Select the Configuration tab. Older versions of LaCie Network Assistant click the Network tab
    3. The system version will be listed.

Reset to Factory

Caution: Resetting the product will erase all Dashboard data such as users, groups, shares, and settings.

If for any reason you wish to reset your hard drive to its out-of-the-box state, follow the procedure below. After resetting to default, all files will be moved to a folder called Recovery in MyShare and so by default will be available only to the administrator.

  1. Make sure the device is turned OFF.
  2. Press and hold the power button for 10 seconds. Release the button immediately when the LED becomes solid red.
  3. The moment the LED begins to blink red, press the button again. Please note that the LED will only blink red for five seconds, so you must press the button again to confirm the reset before it turns solid. If you do not press the button while the red light is blinking, the drive will start normally and the Reset to Factory process will be aborted.
  4. When successfully reset, the device will restart automatically, returning to its factory settings.
© LaCie 2022 Last modified : Mar 01, 2013