User Tools

Site Tools


Unmounting and Locking LA-PRIVATE

Unmounting LA-PRIVATE will prevent others from accessing your private data. It is a great way to lock LA-PRIVATE since the secure volume will no longer be available for unauthorized use. Follow the steps below to unmount and lock LA-PRIVATE.

Important info: You may wish to unmount both LA-PRIVATE and LACIE at the same time. For your security, LA-PRIVATE must be unmounted before LACIE. Your operating system will alert you when attempting to unmount LACIE first.
ss_winvista_la-private_error_ejecting_windows_safe_ejection.jpg
ss_mac_cannot_eject_lacie_with_la-private_drive.jpg

Windows

  1. The LaCie Private-Public icon will appear in the system tray when LA-PRIVATE is mounted. The system tray is on the lower right side of your computer screen.
    ss_winvista_private-public_system_tray_highlight.jpg
  2. Right-click on the LaCie Private-Public icon and select Dismount Private-Public.
    ss_winvista_la-private_system_tray_dismount.jpg
  3. The LA-PRIVATE volume has been unmounted and locked.

 

Mac

  1. Go to the Dock and search for the LaCie Private-Public icon.
    dock_la-private.jpg
  2. Right-click on the LaCie Private-Public icon to select Dismount.
    dismount_la-private.jpg
  3. LA-PRIVATE has been unmounted and locked.
© LaCie 2019 Last modified : Jul 08, 2013