The Dashboard is an easy-to-use browser-based administration tool that will allow you to manage users, shares, backups, and many other features.
There are two ways to access the Dashboard:
If the administrator has forgotten his password, it can be recovered if an SMTP server has been assigned with an email address. See Dashboard - Network for instructions on adding an email address.
The first time you log onto your network storage, you will be asked:
To begin, log onto your LaCie network storage via LaCie Network Assistant or enter the address manually in an Internet browser:
Your LaCie network storage and MyNAS address are ready for use. See Remote Access for more information on MyNAS.
The Welcome page contains links to helpful documents from the LaCie website, the ability to change details for the administrator, and a list of the different pages that make up the Dashboard.
To Shut Down, Restart, or put the network storage device into Deep Sleep Mode, click on the power button in the upper right of the Dashboard window. Since it is not available by default, Deep Sleep Mode must be enabled by the administrator (see Dashboard - Eco Management).
To log out of the Dashboard, click the Log Out button in the upper right of the Dashboard window. For security reasons, LaCie recommends logging out of the Dashboard if it is no longer needed.
The Dashboard is made up of a central area surrounded by widgets, or small boxes that represent the different pages. The widget displays a summary of the information contained in the page. For full details, navigate to the page itself.
To create a new user, click the ADD USER button, then fill out the required fields.
User data is organized in a table:
To delete a user, click the gray X on the far right of the user's row. A pop-up window will ask for confirmation. By clicking APPLY, you will delete the user's share and all of his data.
This page shows you information about disk usage and will allow you to reformat the Network drive or the USB drive (USBShare).
When you click the top FORMAT button, ALL data on the disk(s) (including USBShare and User Shares) will be erased and the disk(s) will be formatted. Data on any USB Key or hard drive connected to the front expansion port will not be affected.
To reformat the Network Drive:
See Connect to a Computer via USB for details on connecting your LaCie network storage to a computer via the rear USB device port.
On this page, you can:
To change the storage allocated to USBShare:
To format the USBShare:
The Dashboard features a torrent server that will allow you to download torrent files. For more information on torrents, see:
Below the list of downloads are several settings.
The following events will trigger an email notification if an email address has been provided in the User page:
|Capacity||When the total available capacity is less than 90%||Admin|
|Quota event||When capacity reaches 90% of the amount set by the quota||Admin|
|Download||When a download has completed or when a download error has occurred||Admin|
|Backup||When a backup begins, ends, is cancelled, or fails||Admin|
|Temperature||The product has remained at maximum temperature for at least one minute||Admin|
|Password recovery||A user has recovered his/her password||Admin or user, depending on who made the request|
By default, your LaCie network storage will search for updates to its operating system on a weekly basis. If an update is found, the system will install it for you. See Update Product Operating System for details on adjusting the update settings.
The Logs section will list important events, such as warnings and RAID change results (RAID is only available on the Network Space MAX).
To purge the text from the list, click the Trash icon.
Your LaCie network storage features a robust backup and restore system that allows you to back up files:
Backup: To secure the family media and other important files, you wish to backup the contents of your LaCie network storage onto an external USB hard drive. Once the external hard drive is plugged into the front USB expansion port, you can use the Backup page to schedule the frequency and type of backup. Backups are flexible, allowing you to choose every day, once a week, or once a month.
Restore: Someone in the household accidentally deleted a critical term paper from his LaCie network storage share. Thankfully, you have backed up the network storage every night onto an external hard drive. Once the external hard drive is plugged into the front USB expansion port, you can go to the Backup page to restore the missing document.
The Backup & Restore Wizard will help you set up backup jobs and to restore files that may have been deleted or lost. The system saves up to 10 versions of backups, giving you the flexibility to restore earlier versions of files.
Jobs you have created will be listed in the table on the Backup page. This table will display useful information that will help you to manage the jobs. Click the configuration (intertwined screwdriver and wrench) icon in the far-right column for options. You can get detailed information on a job, start it, delete it, or enable/disable it.
If you disable a scheduled job, it will not run until it is enabled.
This page provides information on devices connected to the front USB expansion port. Please note that the rear USB device port is meant to plug the network storage device to your computer.
Your LaCie network storage device features a printer server.
To activate it:
Connect an external hard drive to the front USB port and it will be listed on this page. Once connected, the drive's partition(s) will behave similarly to OpenShare or USBShare on your LaCie network storage. You may view the volume(s) on the Dashboard - Shares page and access data using your operating system's file system (an Explorer window for Windows users, and the Finder for Mac users).
To avoid damaging your external hard drive's file system, click the EJECT button before disconnecting it from your LaCie NAS.
Choose between Configure using DHCP and Configure manually. If your network is DHCP-enabled, as are most consumer networks, the LaCie network storage will automatically be assigned an IP address. As a result, most users will see that the table has been filled in with values. If you select Configure manually, you will be able to modify the table values to conform to your non-DHCP-managed network.
Your LaCie network storage can be configured to connect to a proxy server:
To permit your LaCie network storage to send alert emails to users, configure the SMTP settings in this section. Verify that the alert system works by:
The Dashboard features an interactive file browser that allows you to manage and transfer files via HTTP. Access the File Browser by clicking its icon in the upper right-hand corner of the Dashboard.
The File Browser allows you to transfer, copy, and delete files, as well as view photos in thumbnails and even stream multimedia content such as mp3 music files. It is a convenient way to interact with files stored on your external hard drives through the network, whether they are connected via the local network or the Internet (see Remote Access). Also, since the File Browser offers faster transfers than desktop drag-and-drop, it is more effective when copying large files.
The File Browser is composed of four parts:
You can view photos, edit text files, and stream certain types of music. Select the file, then: