User Tools

Site Tools


Remote Backups: Enable Network Backup Server

Remote backups copy data from a share on your LaCie NAS to a share on a second NAS. A second NAS can be another LaCie NAS running LaCie NAS OS (see LaCie Network Storage for details). It can also be a non-LaCie NAS compatible with rsync.

The share that you back up on your LaCie NAS is the Source. The second NAS is the Destination that stores the backup.

Source NAS Destination NAS Destination NAS Location Destination share Type of Remote Backup
LaCie NAS A on the local network LaCie NAS B or a third-party rsync-compatible NAS Local network Network Backup Share or rsync equivalent Local NAS-to-NAS
LaCie NAS A on the local network LaCie NAS B or a third-party rsync compatible NAS Network outside of the local network (e.g. a colleague's home or a branch office) Network Backup Share or rsync equivalent Offsite NAS-to-NAS

Note on rsync: See Remote Backup: Rsync for instructions on how to back up to to a non-LaCie NAS that is rsync compatible.

 

Enable Network Backup Share

All remote backups from a LaCie NAS to a second LaCie NAS are copied to a special share called Network Backup. The Network Backup share on the destination LaCie NAS must be enabled before creating a remote backup job.

Enable the Network Backup Share:

  1. Launch the Dashboard for the Destination LaCie NAS.
  2. Navigate to Dashboard > Backup and select the tab Network Backup server.

  3. Choose Enable.
  4. At the prompt, enter and confirm a password. The password can be different from the password you used for your Dashboard login. Your Network Backup password will be needed when you set up a Remote backup.

  5. If you have more than one volume, select the Location pull-down menu to choose a volume for the Network Backup share. It is highly recommended that you use a volume with RAID protection (RAID 1, RAID 5, or RAID 6).

  6. Choose Apply.

  7. With Network Backup enabled, the Dashboard provides a summary of the settings. You can return to this page if you forget the password or you want to disable the Network Backup share.

Network Backup tab

  • The Network Backup Share can only be accessed by the administrator of the LaCie NAS.
  • The administrator can find the Network Backup password if it is forgotten. Go to the Network Backup tab and click on the magnifying glass icon.
  • To change the Network Backup password, choose the configuration icon (pencil).
© LaCie 2022 Last modified : Jun 06, 2016