User Tools

Site Tools


Shares: Access and Transfer Files

About default shares

A share is a network volume that you can configure to store and share data. Your LaCie NAS has two shares by default: admin and Public. Following the initial login, the share admin will change to the name used by the administrator. For example, if the administrator changes the default login “admin” to “John”, the share admin will become John.

The following table sums up the differences between them:

Name Accessibility Login Availability
admin Private, accessible only to admin by default Password-protected (user password) Computers on the network and remote access (must be enabled)
Public Public, accessible to any user on the network None Computers on the network and remote access (must be enabled)

It is also possible to create new shares and/or to delete the default shares. See Shares for details.

Access shares

You have several options for accessing shares on your LaCie NAS.

Option 1: LaCie Network Assistant - quick share access

Use LaCie Network Assistant for quick access to public shares. See Quick Access for details.

Option 2: LaCie Network Assistant - authenticate for private shares

Use LaCie Network Assistant to enter your username and password. See Authenticate Private Shares for details.

Option 3: Operating System

Use your operating system to open your LaCie NAS's shares.

Windows

In an Explorer window address field, type \\[machine name] or \\[IP address]] and choose Go. Alternatively, from the Start menu, select Run then type \\[machine name] or \\[IP address]]. Choose OK.


Windows Vista, Windows 7, and Windows 8

Windows XP

 

Mac

  1. From the Finder, navigate to Go > Connect to Server.
  2. In the dialogue window, type one of the following:
    afp://[machine name].local
    smb://[machine name].local
    afp://[IP address]
    smb://[IP address]

© LaCie 2022 Last modified : Mar 14, 2014