Following these steps will erase all Dashboard data such as users, groups, shares, and settings. It will also reset the machine name to the default and reset the network settings to DHCP.
Connected DAS will not be affected by the NAS reset.
User data is moved to a folder named Recovery in a share named Share. Only the administrator can access Share.
Power off the 2big NAS.
Press and hold down the front LED button. Without releasing the front button, turn the product on using the power switch on the rear of the product.
Keep the front button pressed until the front LED becomes solid red, then release it.
The LED will blink red. Within five seconds, press the front button once to confirm the reset. The front LED will blink blue for several seconds.
The front LED will blink red/blue during a system reset. The LaCie 2big NAS is ready when it reboots and the front LED is static blue.
Format, delete, or recreate the volume
Once the NAS is reset, you can:
Access your data on Share
Format the existing volumes
Delete the existing volumes
Create new volumes
See Storage for instructions on formatting, deleting, and creating volumes.
Caution: Formatting, deleting, or recreating existing volumes will erase all the data on the NAS. Make sure to back up all your data onto another storage device before proceeding. LaCie cannot be held responsible for any loss of data.