For the 5big Network 2, there are two methods for resetting your LaCie NAS to factory conditions. Both will erase the default Dashboard data such as users, groups, machine name, etc. However, the first method, Reset Without Data Loss, will not delete files stored to the NAS, and the second, Reset With Data Loss, will. The second method constitutes a complete restoration to the out-of-box state.
For the d2 and 2big Network 2, if you wish to restore the NAS to the out-of-box state, first format the drive as described in Dashboard - Drive Information. Then follow the steps in Reset Without Data Loss. These two steps will first delete all files, then reset Dashboard settings.
Note that neither Reset Without Data Loss nor Reset With Data Loss will affect attached external hard drives.
In certain cases, you may wish to reinitialize your LaCie 5big Network 2. For example, it is going to be repurposed by moving it from one branch office to another. Since the new branch office employs a different team, you decide to reset the 5big to its out-of-box state. To do so, follow these steps:
The following steps should take approximately three minutes.
Steps 4 through 6 should take approximately seven minutes.